MCP: Picking a Brotherhood Roster

I really want to run an X-men Roster (worked on one here), but I would need to paint at least 5 models to do that and I’m a bit short on time, so let’s have a look at a Brotherhood roster. It’s pretty easy, It’s the cards that take time!

So the affiliated choices are as follows:

Erm, that’s 10. But maybe I want some other models?

  • So I want Magneto and Mystique. Different playstyles but Mystique is both good with Magneto and handy when I need a lower threat leader.
  • Colossus is a maybe. He Works well with Magneto but was underwhelming last week.
  • Gambit is also a maybe. Doesn’t really add to either of the leaders.
  • Juggernaut is a definite yes.
  • Quicksilver is a maybe. Unless I’m thinking of Difficult to please in which case he is a yes.
  • Rogue is a yes.
  • Sabretooth is a maybe. No good for Magneto and expensive with Mystique.
  • Scarlet Witch is a yes. Only her cost is an issue.
  • Toad is a yes, I take him out of affiliation, why would I not take him in!

So which out of affiliation models do I want?

  • Vision is a good shout. Thematic (sort of) and has a cheap throw.
  • Angela has a cheap throw and easy access to it but do I want another 5 cost model?
  • Beast has a cheap throw and is 3 threat.
  • Lockjaw and Crystal are handy for moving Mags

But since I can have in affiliation models and they’re pretty good I think I’ll stick with them.

So I think I’ll remove Sabretooth and add Vision.

So I have this:

  • Magneto
  • Mystique
  • Colossus
  • Gambit
  • Juggernaut
  • Quicksilver
  • Rogue
  • Scarlet Witch
  • Toad
  • Vision

I’m tempted to remove Colossus or Gambit for Beast but let’s leave it for now.

Cards!

I want the key faction and character cards

  • Asteroid M
  • Magnetic Refraction
  • Do You know Who I am?
  • Difficult to please
  • Whims of chaos
  • No More Mutants
  • Deception

and then 2 restricted cards

  • Medpack
  • Field dressing

Then I think I’ll take Indomitable.

I’m not sure I want 3 Scarlet Witch Cards. If I take her, and Asteroid M and all 3 cards I’d only have 1 restricted card left. On the other hand I don’t need to take all 3.

Crisis selection is tricky.

I don’t want lots of extracts due to Asteroid M. So I’m taking Research Station, Montesi formula and Alien ship.

Mystique allows large numbers of Secures, so I’m taking super powered Scoundrels and Infinity Formula. But then I’d like something which is grouped together and high VP. Demon’s fits that, but I don’t really want the incinerate. Gamma Wave can be played at 15. Not ideal. But I can’t see another mission I really want, so Gamma Wave it is.

That was relatively easy!

4 comments

  1. […] So one of the next rosters I really want to run is X-men. I just have a big problem is that I need to paint between 4 and 6 models! So I’m also working on a Brotherhood roster (here). […]

  2. Sean Morrison · · Reply

    I’m testing Clea as my teleport person. She also has a size 2 throw for both characters and terrain. Between her and Voodoo it also allows me to run Demons easier since they are both immune to incinerate. Mags just does his thing without sitting on points along with whoever else is coming.

  3. […] wrote about the Roster planning here, and used it in this […]

  4. […] some of the models and add Vision, Juggernaut, Toad and Quicksilver back in from my first BOM list (here). But there aren’t 4 models I want to […]

Comments Welcome Here!